Skip to content

Equally Yoked

February 1, 2010

I get an email with a verse from The Message bible every morning. Here is today’s:

“I’ll live in them, move into them; I’ll be their God and they’ll be my people.”2 Corinthians 6:14.

I felt compelled to look it up in my NIV. When I did, that verse is completly different.

“Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?”

I got to thinking while cooking soup and steaming vegetables. Started remembering what my life was like before I had kids, a husband and before I was graciously saved.

Honestly, my life hasn’t changed ALL that much but it has it’s differences.
First being my friends. Not all my friends were wicked. But it’s hard to talk to a non mom when I am immersed in diapers, crying, crafts, chasing (maybe we should call it the 3 Cs), etc. everday, 24/7.

It is possible to be with non moms. It can be invigorating, recharging, light in the dark. Jesus didn’t just love believers, but Jesus loved everyone. It is within the difference that we find Him, and ourselves.

So as your hanging out with your mommy friends remember what you could be missing out on with the non moms.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

