Skip to content

The Big Green Backyard

February 5, 2010

Each time I close my eyes
Things are perfect.

Close your eyes dear,
Imagine…

A setting sun,
Green grass,
Butterfly bushes,
Berry bushes,
Tall grasses that occasionally twirl n dance.

The sound of:
Birds,
Cicadas,
Crickets,
Frogs,
Leaves russeling.

She, I that is,
Am lying on a quilt.

The wee ones are running around,
I hear their laughter
As you chase them
Here and there.

I close my eyes and smell
The sweetness of the grass.
I taste that setting sun on my toungue,
Perfect.

You run over
Collide with me,
Wrapping me in your arms
A kiss

Chase us again Papa!

You don’t hesitate
Your on your feet
Lickity split.

I smile. I am smiling.

Nothing is clear,
It’s all out of focus
BUT
I know we are there

Loving each other
Being with each other
NO distractions

In this big backyard that is our own.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 9:37 pm

    came across your site today. I really enjoyed reading your poem.

  2. February 5, 2010 11:03 pm

    Thank you 🙂

  3. February 6, 2010 2:26 am

    excellent.
    an insight into a special moment

Leave a Reply

