Skip to content

nighttime self lovin.

June 24, 2010

The evenings have been EXTREMELY stressful lately. Chris is hardly home until we are all in bed- Ethan has difficulty falling asleep and screams(some nights can take up to 1 1/2 hours) – Sebastian has been suddenly procrastinating bedtime as well.
It leaves me frazzled and ready for bed knowing they will wake me up often before 6…and through the night.

So you can imagine my NEED for unwinding.

I love to lay on my back when I get into bed since I have been on my feet most of the day.

I take a bunch of DEEP breaths.

With each breath I breathe in a “goal” and breathe out a quality I don’t want.

Breathe in love, breathe out hate.

Breathe in patience, breathe out anxiety.

Etc.

Then I make my self present. Get to know and acknowledge my body.

I start at my toes.

Telling myself to feel my toes relaxing.

When I can feel them relax, I pay attention and can feel it moving into my foot, ankles, legs,and so forth.

It’s easy fir my mind to wander but when I notice I gently bring myself back.

Sometimes I fall asleep before I finish.

Sometimes I finish and keep thinking about who I want to be, what changes I’m going through.

Other times, I roll over and fall fast asleep.

It’s so important to pay attention to what’s happening with your body and where your mind wants to be.
It’s even more important when your a mother with everyone elses needs coming first.

What do you do to unwind and relax?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

